Testimonials

Customer reviews for Scott Nelson Electric can be found throughout the internet on such sites as Yelp, Angie’s List, and more. For your convenience, we have listed many of the reviews below.


Quick Emergency Response | July 12, 2011 | Angie’s List

We had a major storm in the area which knocked down all the power in the entire neighborhood. Trees were down and it caused major damage to a majority of the homes in the area. At our rental home, the main electrical cable that comes from the street to the house was damaged and had to be reconnected before ComEd restored power. I called several companies but due to the damage in this area, none were available and could not even be reached. When I called Scott Nelson, he answered the phone within 2 rings and although he was on another job, he took the time to ask the relevant questions. He was honest and told me that if he finished his current assignment, we may be able to come by later that afternoon. This was a big relief as we were concerned that if the power was restored, it would cause an electrical fire if the cable was not fixed on time. Fortunately, Scott Nelson was able to free up some time and came by at 3:30pm. He assessed the damage and got to work right away. The job was done within an hour and the cable was restored back to the way it was. Due to his timely service, we avoided major problems that would have resulted if the power was restored before the system was fixed.

I would highly recommend this service provider to anyone without any reservation. I have added his name to my list of favorites and would definitely call on him if service was needed. His price was very reasonable. Work was very professional. Could not ask for anything more.


Extremely Professional | July 1, 2011 | Angie’s List

Scott answered the phone personally when I called. He was extremely professional. He did a great job. He was punctual and did great work for a very good price. I will definitely call him again in the future.


Pleasant Experience | June 27, 2011 | Angie’s List

Scott Nelson arrived slightly before the appointed  time of 8am. He was very pleasant and  professional and  obviously had a good working relationship with his assistant, Joe. They set to work installing a new outside coach light and added a timer to it. Then Scott gave us directions on  how to set  and use the timer. They then wired a new smoke alarm in the basement and tested it. They  replaced a  light  fixture in the pantry,  wiring in a bathroom and and fixed a switch plate in the garage.  In each of these jobs, and even the minor ones, Scott and Joe used drop cloths for protection, protective booties  for their shoes and took care to clean up after themselves. Questions were readily answered and Scott made  some helpful suggestions for outside lighting.

After this pleasant experience, we have decided to go ahead with other projects since we now have an electrician upon whom we can rely. 


Excellent Service | June 18, 2011 | Angie’s List

Personable and efficient Scott arrived and immediately got to work. He was very knowledgeable about the wiring in our work. Excellent service and I will definitely be using Scott again.


Timely, Friendly, & Efficient | June 9, 2011 | Angie’s List

Mr. Scott from Scott Nelson Electric Inc was timely, friendly and efficient.  He is a wonderful person and did a great job.


Fixed The Unfixable | May 23, 2011 | Angie’s List

Great. Scott was very helpful and thorough. He fixed everything completely and even my kitchen light which a previous electrician said was un-fixable.


Quick Call Back | May 23, 2011 | Angie’s List
I went to Angie’s List to find an electrician locally and came across Scott who had great reviews.  I then went to his website and put in my contact information and asked for a quote.  He called me that same day; which was a Sunday.  We set up time to get the work done.  He was great.

Highly Recommended | May 4, 2011 | Angie’s List

We are getting ready to do some renovation and the village requires that all bedrooms, etc. have hard wired smoke and carbon monoxide detectors.  While we have the devices they were not hardwired into the main electrical panel.  Scott came out reviewed the situation, talked with the village and determined what had to be done.  Work had to be done in all the bedrooms and the basement.  All wiring had to reviewed and connected to code.  We also wanted to add a dedicated 20 amp power outlet in another room.  Scott knew immediately what and how the work was to be done. He provided whatever we needed in equipment that we lacked as of the start of the project.  His work was incredible.  He is down to earth and very easy to communicate with which when dealing with contractors is very unusual.  There were no surprises and everything was completed in a very timely manner. One of his customers noted they had never worked with a contractor that was so efficient and neat.  They were totally correct. When he left our home, all was cleaned up in each room as if he had not been there.  Note: this was a multiple day job and each day, our place was left neat and clean. We are more than pleased. Finally he arranged to have the village inspector come out to our house and work will be concluded at that point.  A true professional with his work and his follow up.

I have already detailed most of what it was like to work with Scott.  He handles everything as if he was doing the work in his own home.  We know that the work was done properly as he explained what and why things had been done. There were no mysteries as he had nothing to hide.  He was just as pleasant  at the end of the job as he was when he came out to give us an estimate. While we had no delays, I know if there had been an emergency which delayed his arrival, we would have heard in as timely a manner as needed.  Scott takes no short cuts and insures your home is safe and protected, a set of values that to me are considered more old school talents!  With all this, he also has a great sense of humor and with two large dogs in the house, that happened to come in handy! We are just getting started with work to be done in our home (we have lived here for 20 years). We asked Scott for some suggestions on how we might proceed with new exhaust fans for our bathrooms and new lighting for our family room.  I liked the fact that he reviewed alternatives and explained why each might be chosen. What could have been a very tense requirement for our initial work, Scott made look easy. We will definitely use him for added work and we would highly recommend him for any electrical work one might be considering.


Very Professional | April 26, 2011 | Angie’s List
Installed recessed lights in living room, hallway and master bedroom. [Scott] previously installed recessed lights in our kitchen. Installed remote switch in master bedroom and lights in walk in closets. Scott was very professional and answered our questions and helped us with our concerns. We will use him again for other lighting projects. Both projects that we had done by Scott went smoothly from start to finish and were completed in less then one day.

Cleanest Electrician Ever | April 22, 2011 | Angie’s List
Initial scheduling of appointments for estimate and repair were very easily done. Scott Nelson was extremely responsive in those aspects. Calls were returned in a timely fashion and he was punctual for appointments. On the day of the installation and repairs, Scott went seriously above and beyond to make sure everything was done properly and some issues that came up, due to another contractor working on the house at the same time, he handled very well. I found Scott to be highly knowledgeable in his field, conscientious about getting the work done correctly the first time and is the cleanest electrician I have ever encountered (and I have had plenty of experience!). As a homeowner having had several bad experiences with contractors, I am very stingy with positive recommendations of tradespeople. However, in this case I would highly recommend Scott Nelson for any electrical work.

Punctual & Professional | April 6, 2011 | Angie’s List
I called for an estimate. Scott came the next day, exactly at the time he said he would. He and I both had upcoming appointments, so he came back in the afternoon to do the installation. I appreciated his punctuality, professionalism, and courtesy.

Prompt & Friendly | April 3, 2011 | Angie’s List
Scott called back promptly after I called, set an appointment for the next day (morning). Appeared on time, was professional and friendly. He explained what he did. His work was neat and he charged what he quoted.

Repair Went Great! | March 17, 2011 | Angie’s List
A fixture shorted out in our crawl space and impacted a receptacle in another part of the crawl space. Scott determined what the problem was in less than 30 minutes and made the necessary repairs in less than an hour. The problem he fixed was impacting our downstairs bathroom, security system and sump pump. It went great! I called him early in the morning and he made an appointment in the late afternoon and the repairs were done by early evening.

Refreshing Personality | February 28, 2011 | Angie’s List
I called Scott and was pleased to have him answer the phone. He gave an estimate and schedule an 8 am on a Monday service call. He also gave me a detailed list of supplies to purchase because if he purchased them, he would have to charge me for his time. His list was so detailed that I just handed to an associate at Home Depot and was in and out of the store in record time. To my delight, Scott was actually early!!!! His pleasant personality and “can-do” attitude is so refreshing. He actually likes his work. He took the time to explain to me everything that he did. And he liked my dog. (: I plan to add ceiling fans to 3 bedrooms. I will call Scott to complete that work.

Competitive & Dependable | February 24, 2011 | Yelp Review
Scott does impressive and efficient work. He’s honest, keeps his prices competitive, and is respectful of your home. I’ve already recommended him to friends and have scheduled another job for him. I’m so satisfied with the recessed lighting he put in our family room that I created this Yelp account just to tell you to have no hesitation in hiring him. I’m glad I found a dependable electrician. – Tim K. of Libertyville, IL

Overall Great Experience | February 9, 2011 | Angie’s List
Scott was on time and very professional. The work took 2 days and I couldn’t be happier with the quality of the work performed. I have some additional work needed on the finished portion of the basement and plan on having Scott out to do that work as well. Overall, a great experience.

Scott Respects Your Schedule | January 26, 2011 | Angie’s List
Scott estimated the job on 1/24 and returned w/the supplies needed on 1/25 to complete the work. He called a few times to let me know when he’d arrive. That was great since it showed that he respected my schedule; you don’t find that everyday. He’s a personable professional who gets the job done. I plan to use his services again and forward his name around to friends and family.

Thorough & Efficient | December 15, 2010 | Angie’s List
Installed new electrical fixtures in our home. Also repaired hot tub motor. Scott was prompt in returning my call and in his service call. He was very friendly, explained everything thoroughly and performed the work efficiently. He was neat and cleaned up well.

Will Definitely Hire Again! | December 8, 2010 | Angie’s List
Scott replaced two closet fixtures and a pantry fixture. He also repaired the fixture in our laundry room and gave me an estimate for additional work. Plus, I got a 10% discount for contacting him on Angie’s list! I phoned Scott late Monday afternoon and we set up an appointment for Weds. morning at 8:00 am. Scott arrived 10 minutes early (no problem!) and he got right down to business. I showed him our problems and he gave me options on repairing or replacing the ceiling fixtures. I chose to replace 3 fixtures which he went out and purchased. He came right back and finished everything, including repairing the laundry room fixture. Scott also gave us a quote on installing sconces in our bedroom and he advised me on how the work would be done and gave me a shopping suggestion. Overall, the whole job took just under 3 hours. He was very neat and took all the old parts and bulbs away. I will definitely hire him again in the future!

Competent & Honest | November 23, 2010 | Angie’s List
Scott added two electrical outlets outside and repaired two others. Scott did a fantastic job: polite, courteous, and professional. Scott scheduled this work around our schedules and gave us an estimate prior to starting the work. He said, “It may be less, but it will never be any more; I don’t believe in surprising my customers.” I was surprised – pleasantly so – at what a great job Scott did at such a wonderful price. As he was ready to leave, I asked Scott a question about a light in our kitchen that I was having problems with, just to get his advice. He pulled the whole thing apart, spending another twenty minutes on it, fixed it, and never even charged me for this extra repair. He is a competent electrician and an honest man. We are already working with him to schedule some outdoor lighting installation with him!

Friendly & Knowledgeable | November 22, 2010 | Angie’s List
Found short in electrical system, replaced outdoor socket. My husband called Scott on a Sunday afternoon, fully expecting to get a voice mail. Scott himself answered and said he could come over that afternoon so we could have electricity in our living room! He was very friendly, professional and knowledgeable. We would highly recommend Scott Nelson, and would definitely call him again for any electrical work.

Genuine & Honest | October 4, 2010 | Angie’s List
The work went great. The electrician is fantastic. He is great. He is very genuine, honest, fast and all around. He is a really good guy.

Excellent Price & Service! | September 30, 2010 | Angie’s List
Steve was very professional when he arrived at the house. Our house had cathedral ceilings and Scott made an extra trip to get the right parts for the ceiling fan that we bought. I would highly recommend Scott for your electrical needs. The price was excellent and the service was even better!

Respectful Of Your Home | August 25, 2011 | Angie’s List
He came out and troubleshot an electrical issue that I had 2 other contractors try to figure out with no avail. He was able to find out the issue. He did not charge an arm and a leg. He treats your home like his. He is very respectful of your home.

Same Day Service | August 25, 2010 | Yelp Review
I had some electrical issues that needed to be resolved. So I called Scott Nelson Electric who troubleshooted / repaired the issue the same day. The bonus was it did not cost me an arm & leg. – Joe O. of Mundelein, IL

Fair, Fast, & Honest | July 1, 2010 | Angie’s List
Scott ran electric service underground to my Gazebo, He installed; a ceiling fan, ground outlets, and cable service. He also corrected code violations in the main electrical box so I would pass the inspection. He was prompt, returned calls,and worked well with the village inspectors. The work was neatly completed in a timely professional manner. Scott provided a detailed proposal one day after my initial call. He had to reschedule the work twice due to a delay in the permit process. Scott met twice with the building inspectors and his work was noted as excellent by the inspector. I could not be more pleased. I highly recommend. Fair, fast and honest.